Simpsons Duke 3 - is this normal?

Discussion in 'The Brush' started by william beer, Jan 19, 2019.

1. william beer

william beer Well-Known Member

Bought a Simpsons Duke 3 that was three years old but only used a couple of times. Just seems not to be behaving like a premium brush to me but I'm no expert. When I wet the brush prior to loading it with soap this is what I get (see photo).
    IMG_1687.JPG
    And it seems to lose the lather and also seems to be holding water excessively. I the picture above i "flicked' it once and it flopped to the side as seen. When is drys out completely it looks like the picture below.
    IMG_1688.JPG
    I have the badger brushes but this one behaves totally different the the others plus it looses hard at an alarming rate (10-15 hairs per use. I read on other posts that this can happen with the Duke 3 but this one is weird. I am not liking this at all but like I said I'm no expert. Anyone out there with guidance on this topic?

2. RyX

RyX DoH!

Just a guess - it got left wet & bristles down in a mug?

Frijolero, Dansco, MR41 and 1 other person like this.
  3. oscar11

oscar11 Well-Known Member

I haven't owned a Duke 3 but it's an iconic brush. My guess would be that the brush is probably at the upper end of the loft specs or even slightly over specs making for a floppy knot. If that's the case there's not much you can do about it. As far as the shedding goes if your willing to mess with the knot I would suggest gently combing it out until you get it settle down. That might take some combing but eventually it should settle down. Your other option would be to contact Simpsons.

Frijolero and RyX like this.
  4. Primotenore

Primotenore missed opera tunity

Article Team