Single Malt Scotch

Discussion in 'The Good Life' started by PalmettoB, Jun 4, 2007.

1. PalmettoB

PalmettoB The Old Guard

Okay, all you discerning gents (and ladies, for that matter). A question to the assembly:

I am dying to try a single malt scotch, and haven't a clue where to start. I usually drink Irish whiskey (Bushmill's, Jameson's), so I am a total newbie when it comes to scotch. So where to begin? I have read up on some of the different varieties and regions in which they are produced, but I want to start slow and get my money's worth, since I won't be drinking it that often (and I'll be the only one drinking it, as many of my friends don't drink, and my wife prefers wine or gin and tonic.)

Opinions??

2. rick

rick I'll make ya SCream!

Blair:

You are opening a big can here, my friend :D
    Scotch is a many splendid thing and there are MANY differences between
    I will also say that you can spend a paycheck on a bottle, so beware.
    Personally, I like smoke and peat in my whisky so I will recommend:

Laphroig
    Johnnie Walker BLACK
    Chivas Regal 18 year old
    Dewar's 12 year old

Also, to start with you may not want to spend a fortune so here are a cuppa bargain blends I like:
    Famous Grouse
    Grants

Yes, I realize most of my recommendations are BLENDS, but I find single malts, in general, to be overpriced and not worthy of their sticker price.

LevelupShaves likes this.
  3. jfl

jfl New Member

If there's a blended Scotch you like, try a single malt from the same company or family. I hear Cardhu is similar to Johnnie Walker and Glen Ord is used in Dewar's.

You can gather additional information from: scotchwhisky.net.

You might be able to sample some on an airplane for 5 bucks a pop.

Jim

4. msandoval858

msandoval858 Active Member

I discovered something new the other day and will be headed back to pick up another bottle.

Aberfeldy 12 yr old.