Soap Storage and Labeling

Discussion in 'Shave Soaps' started by wmbjr, Jun 8, 2015.

1. wmbjr

wmbjr Duck, duck, cooked goose!

I am a complete and total newbie and am buying my first shave soaps to use. (Actually not true, because I purchased a VDH deluxe kit, so I have that soap already). I am buying several samples ( I think 6 samples for now) from Stirling Soap to see what scent types I might like and if I even like shaving with soap and a brush. I am thinking of storing them in little Rubbermaid or Ziploc containers with a label of some sort on top.

First question, is it a good idea to store them in the containers or should I buy the tins that Stirling sells or what works best?

Second question, never having bought the soaps before I am going to assume they come with some type of label that I can cut out of the packaging and affix to the top of the container, is that correct? Or will I need to come up with some alternative labeling method?

Thanks!

2. Omaney

Omaney Well-Known Member

Stirling sends their samples labelled. They're a booger to remove from the shrinkwrap but labels they be. I prefer tins and use them but the inexpensive ziplock/glad containers work just as well and are far less expensive. Just make sure to buy them large enough for a little lathering space.

Douglas Carey likes this.
  3. SHAVEWIZARD420

SHAVEWIZARD420 Well-Known Member

most manufactures have some kind of label on their product that you could put on the new container. I personally use the blue lid bowls from dollar tree, but any Tupperware bowl will work. I will use the metal tins if the soap comes in it. if you are having a hard time loading in the tin you could switch to a mug or bowl. it is really a matter of preference and what is better for you.

4. wmbjr

I think the sample pucks are 3 inches in diameter and the containers I plan to use are about 4 overall. Should that give me plenty room to load the brush or is that too much slop and the soap will just move around?