Soap suggestions

Discussion in 'Shave Soaps' started by Happy janitor, Feb 24, 2018.

1. Happy janitor

Happy janitor Active Member

hi all. Im a newb, about a month in, and I'm looking for suggestions on some shave soaps. I've been using wcs ocean shave soap. I've tried every method of getting a quality lather, but its problem is that it doesn't have the slickness I'm looking for and it disappears on your face. Some reviews say to lather only half your face at a time because of this. That's not my opinion of quality. Today I picked up some cremo shave cream. It has the slickness I'm looking for and I got a really nice shave tonight, but i want that lather to go with it. Any suggestions? Oh, i do have a couple of samples from stirling but havent broke into them yet on account of doing the thirty day challenge.

2. PLAla

PLAla Bit Shy of a Full Puck

Stirling is incredible soap. You cannot go wrong with it.

jwr3265, BaylorGator, Enrico and 7 others like this.
  3. PickledNorthern

PickledNorthern Fabulous, the unicorn

Honestly sounds like you need to load more soap. Not being snarky, but with almost any decent product, disappearing lather means not enough product and too much water for the amount of product. 90%+ of newbs can solve their lather problems by using MORE product.

jwr3265, Bobcat, RyX and 2 others like this.
  4. Zykris

Zykris Well-Known Member

Both suggestions above are solid.

PLAla likes this.
  5. MR41

MR41 Well-Known Member

I agree with what’s been said and I’ll add that Proraso is very reasonably priced and is great value for money in all categories.

BigMike and PLAla like this.
  6. RyX

RyX DoH!