Some help please with edge retention

Discussion in 'Straight Razors' started by emmijack, Feb 11, 2013.

1. emmijack

emmijack Well-Known Member

Although I am New to the world of straight razors, I am slowly getting to grips with my technique, stropping etc, but have problems with the razor keeping it's edge for the whole shave.
    I have tried the thumb nail test and the razors edge grips all the way along the length of the blade, so I am presuming that the bevel is ok, stropping also goes well and after around 40 strokes the razor has a keen edge, shaving the cheeks from the sideburns down is ok, but then it all goes pear shaped as the razor appears to have lost it's edge and drags and pulls my beard instead of cutting it, and this is WTG at a 30 degree angle
    Am I missing something obvious or doing something blatently wrong
    Some help please from those more experienced straight razor users.
    Many thanks.

2. Larry Stephenson

Larry Stephenson Active Member

I'm not the one with many years of experience on the board, but the first and only thing that comes to mind is the steel. If a good edge can be obtained, the only thing I can think of is the steel not holding the edge. What type/make of razor are you using?

3. Williams Warrior

Williams Warrior Well-Known Member

3o degrees is pretty steep and I'll wager your dropping your wrist and going even steeper when you get below the jawline. What is your brand of razor? The steeper your angle the duller it will feel.

4. emmijack

I'm using a Hamburg ring razor, I'm holding the spine two spine widths from my face, I don't know if this is thirty degrees or not, but I do try and keep the same angle throughout the shave, I just dont know if I am doing anything wrong

5. Williams Warrior

Try going shallower below the jaw line on your first pass and open it up on the next one.

6. Larry Stephenson

Larry Stephenson Active Member