Straights and more

Discussion in 'Straight Razors' started by Scorpio, Feb 3, 2007.

1. Scorpio

Scorpio Big Hitter

I have been using straights for a few months now. I have progressed to the point that I am honing my own razors and getting comfortable shaves. I will try to offer any advise from the little knowledge I have gathered and will try to direct others to places were information can be obtained.

I would like everyone to participate in this forum as straights have a traditional and mystical air about them. Besides Real men shave with one blade:D

Did I mentioned I really like taking part in this endeavor from the begining and would like to thank all you for allowing me to be here from the inception. I have a good feeling about this!!!!

Raf

2. Baron

Baron New Member

I've always wanted to try a straight, I just haven't been able to pick one out that I can afford. I need to buy one that's actually ready to shave so I can learn to hone later.

Thanks for starting something in the straight section!

3. Scorpio

Scorpio Big Hitter

I am working on something that will allow folks to be able to try a straight at an affordable price. But this is all in the planning stages right now. If you like I can let you try one of mine for a couple of weeks. If you like them you can get one cheap on ebay and it will hone it for you. I will help you chose a decent one from ebay. I usually dont pay more than 20-30 for one that I want that I know I can still get a couple of decades worth of good shaves.

Raf

4. Baron

Baron New Member

Wow, that would be awesome!

I can't count how many good straights I could have had by now... My father's an antique dealer an I grew up with it and can remember having tons of them around

5. Will

Will Nevermind

Sounds like a great idea

I do wanna try a Str8 but still a little put off on it the stropping the honing and learning how to do it.

6. Scorpio

Scorpio Big Hitter