Texas Newbie

Discussion in 'Welcome Center' started by Thatdonkey, Jan 2, 2014.

1. Thatdonkey

Thatdonkey Member

About a week ago I decided I wanted to change up my "routine". I've been shaving now for 16 years and over half of that time was with Uncle Sam's "encouragement". That said it's always been with some cheap disposable razor or maybe a Mach 3 if I really felt like splurging. But I wanted to try something new and a straight razor shave is something I had thought about in the past but never very seriously.

So out to a local store I went in search of a SR, a wouldn't you know they don't just sell these things at your local corner store. Finally, after searching though I managed to find a cheap shavette, first use cost me 10 cuts and a pint of blood. Maybe I'm a sadist or perhaps just stubborn, I'm sure my wife would say the latter, but a few shaves later no cuts no nicks and I'm loving it.

Been yacking to the wife after every shave, telling her how this is the best shave I've ever had. I'm sure she's gotten tired of hearing about it which is why I decided to sign up here. Figure there's got to be more gents as enthusiastic about something as simple as a shave. Well, to wrap this up I think I've managed to get through to the wife, and with my B-day right around the corner, if she listened I'm hoping a nice Dovo will be arriving for me. I'll let yall know.

You fellas have a great New Year and be safe

2. Tsalagi44

Tsalagi44 Active Member

Welcome and I'm with you. I love SR shaving. I'm sure my wife is sick of hearing about it too. :p

macaronus and GDCarrington like this.
  3. Queen of Blades

Queen of Blades Mistress of Mischief Staff Member

Moderator Supporting Vendor
    Welcome to The Shave Den! :signs046:

You'll find plenty of gents enthusiastic about shaving here, and even a few ladies. ;)

GDCarrington likes this.
  4. GDCarrington

GDCarrington Burma Shave