The Barbasol Shaving Cream Travel Can Experiment - Sensitive Skin

Discussion in 'Shave Creams' started by sdguero, Oct 16, 2017.

1. sdguero

sdguero Well-Known Member

I was asked by @AGHisBBS last week if I was willing for the sake of "wet shaving science" to try to find out how many shaves could be done with a travel-sized can of Barbasol Shaving Cream. I had just gotten a travel size can of the Barbasol Sensitive Skin scent a couple of weeks ago and used it the first time this past Thursday. I agreed to do so, and beginning today keep track of its uses. However I'll consider the first shave last Thursday as Shave #1 with this travel can.

Now, I am no scientist. I'm not doing a lab-controlled experiment. I'm just an ordinary shave enthusiast who now is curious how many shaves a person can get form a 2 oz can of Barbasol. But this is my plan. I'll shave every day (except maybe weekends) until this travel can is done. I intend to do only face shaves with it for the remainder of October. Starting in November, I'm not face shaving. I promised my wife that I would grow a beard and I promised I'll start it in November. Nevertheless, and assuming this travel can is still pumping out shave cream, I'll use it for head shaves. Fortunately, my bride loves facial hair and bald heads so I can still shave. I'm planning to ensure this can of shave cream isn't having to do "double-duty" with both face and head shaves on a single day.

Some days I'll apply the shave cream by hand, and on other days I'll try a brush. My intention is to use no more than two dollops (about the size of a golf ball) of the cream to do my shaves to cover 2 or 3 passes.

I looked over my Barbasol collection, which is limited. I have a big can of Pacific Rush, a big can of the Soothing Aloe, and a travel size can of Original. I noticed the Original travel size is 2.25 oz (64 g) while the Sensitive Skin (the focus of this experiment) is 2 oz. (57 g). I won't pretend to know why that is.