The best advice to wet-shavers...

Discussion in 'Shave School' started by HUF, Jan 8, 2018.

1. HUF

HUF Active Member

I have been wet-shaving for more than 40 years and the results were still varying. Razors, blades (and their combinations), pressure, creams, soaps, brushes... all this is important but I cannot overestimate the importance of proper hydration. I used to have a few splashes of hot/warm water before lathering my face. What I do now is AT LEAST 10 such splashes. It does make difference, folks. So, hydrate for at least three minutes before lathering.

2. dustmite

dustmite Well-Known Member

This is why I shave right after showering.

MikeyIdaho, PLANofMAN, MaxG and 4 others like this.
  3. TobyC

TobyC Well-Known Member

Washcloth, hot and wet, scrub it good!

Tallships likes this.
  4. RyX

RyX DoH!

In all the movies showing folks getting shaved by a barber with a straight razor - a hot towel soak happens first. Are you telling me they didn't just make that stuff up? ;)

5. swarden43

swarden43 "It's your shave. Enjoy it your way."©

Yessir. There's a reason it's called wet shaving! :)

Terry, RyX, LOOT and 1 other person like this.
  6. Troy M

Troy M Prep: Mephitis mephitis musk

Wash that face before shaving.

Ijustmissedthe50s likes this.
  7. Jim99

Jim99 Gold Water Shaver

I alway rinse my face with warm water for about a minute prior to lathering up. It definitely helps with my shaves.

8. Primotenore

Primotenore missed opera tunity

Article Team
    :signs011:

9. HUF

HUF Active Member

That's what I used to do as well...for a minute or so. Try three minutes, see if it makes a difference!

Jim99 likes this.
  10. david of central florida

david of central florida Rhubarb Rubber

Hence WETshaving

Not single blading, not old fashion lathering, not brush n' mug, all may be part. But wet being premise.

Ijustmissedthe50s and Jim99 like this.
  11. Eeyore

Eeyore Well-Known Member