TOOBS St. James Collection And Face A Burning Sensation

Discussion in 'Shave Creams' started by Dirtfarmer, Aug 4, 2019.

1. Dirtfarmer

Dirtfarmer Well-Known Member

O.K. I'm new to this way of shaving so I started with my old standby shave cream, Barbasol. I've used it since the early 80's. Decided to try Cremo Sandalwood. Love the slickness - hate the smell. Then I decided to try some better shave cream and a brush. I got a tub of TOOBS St James Collection and love the smell, the ease of lather and the slickness. BUT, it burns my cheeks around my cheek bones. No place else. I have a Perfecto badger hair brush and was wondering if maybe it the brush. I've only brushed on maybe 3 or 4 - 3 pass shaves. Could I just not be use to using the brush. It's not turning my face red like a chemical reaction. Should I just nut up and keep using it for a while or try something else?

McCrae, brit and RyX like this.
  2. RyX

RyX DoH!

There's a test that works for soap and post shave products. Apply some to the inside of your elbow. Leave it there for 15-30 minutes, then rinse and look for irritation or inflammation. That thin skin that will show if you are reacting to the ingredients. Usually it's the scent, concentrated essential oils. Sometimes lanolin can cause irritation. Do you have any allergies?

Ingredients. Aqua, Stearic Acid, Myristic Acid, Coconut Acid, Potassium Hydroxide, Glycerin, Triethanolamine, Parfum, Sodium Hydroxide, Methylparaben, Propylparaben.

It'll take a few minutes, but you can look up each ingredient. They are all very specific except for "Parfum".

From another source I found;

"Contains lemon oil, patchouli oil, and spearmint oil"

Citrus oils can be irritating to some folks. Patchouli is a member of the mint family - another potential irritant. You can read more about that in This Article.

3. Dirtfarmer