Van Der Hagen BOAR - some things that should not have been

Discussion in 'The Brush' started by EnglishChannel, Jun 13, 2017.

1. EnglishChannel

EnglishChannel Well-Known Member

The world has changed. I feel it in the water.
    In years past, many have started their wet shaving journey with the Van Der Hagen Premium Shave Set.
    The set with soap, bowl, and the lowly VDH Boar brush. I recently took this kit on a long journey away from home. VanDerHagenBrush.jpg
    Many use the brush without incident, but many have had brushes that shed too much. I have such a brush.
    In my attempt to resolve the problem, I aggressively combed the knot and pulled at the loose bristles.

To my horror, I pulled a chunk of bristles out of the middle of the knot.... but the rest of the knot remained.
    VDHbrushHole.jpg

This brush now has a hole in the middle - BUT - it is excellent at building a great lather on my face!
    I've been using it like this for several months and it continues to perform and remain intact. To my surprise, this brush now easily out-performs my other boar brushes.

And some things that should not have been forgotten were lost.
    It is a fluke, but I wonder if I have stumbled upon a long lost design for shaving brushes.

jeraldgordon, Jim99, MR41 and 5 others like this.
  2. Jayaruh

Jayaruh The Cackalacky House Pet

Supporting Vendor
    OUCH! If you need a new brush, I know a guy.

Redfisher, MR41, RaZorBurn123 and 8 others like this.
  3. Redfisher

Redfisher Doesn't celebrate National Donut Day

I started with one of those sets, I've since moved on but at the time every thing worked pretty well. Nowadays the bowl works fine for salsa or whatnot.

MR41 and EnglishChannel like this.
  4. lightcs1776

lightcs1776 Well-Known Member

I had a cheap badger from Amazon. I tossed it after a couple decent boar brushes.

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk

RaZorBurn123 and EnglishChannel like this.
  5. RyX

RyX DoH!