What can I expect from Tabac?

Discussion in 'Shave Soaps' started by commah, May 23, 2007.

1. commah

commah New Member

I'm a relative newbie to this whole thing, but I'm progressing nicely. For the last month and a half I've been using Proraso green, pre/post, and a/s almost exclusively, though I have a ton of creams, soaps, etc... that my bro gave me. But, I've been reading a lot of reviews, and it seems, at least to me, that some people hold Tabac in a league unto itself.

So, I finally made the plunge to venture from Proraso green, and placed an order on Monday with Em's place for a tub of Tabac shave soap in the ceramic bowl. As I said, up until now I've just been using Proraso green, and a Merckur "classic" DE.

My question is this, what can I expect when I receive my bowl of Tabac, which should be tomorrow or Thursday. I've been reading how creamy it is, etc..., and I'm particularly curious about the scent. I love the nice smelling cologne type scents, so I have no idea what to expect.

Anyone wanna fill me in on what to expect when I receive my package? Tips? Suggestions? Advice? I'd love to hear it...

2. moviemaniac

moviemaniac Tool Time

You can most certainly expect a great shave from this great soap :D

3. jnich67

jnich67 Member

Nirvana.....:drool

Actually, if you haven't used soaps before it might take a few tries to get it right. I usually wet the brush and the soap. Then flick out most of the water. Load the brush up with soap- maybe 10-20 swirls. Then go to town right on the wet face. Depending on your brush, the water quality, etc. it may take a minute or two to develop a thick creamy lather, but it will get there. Play around with it. The scent is outstanding. Pick up some of the a/s lotion when you can.

Jordan

4. Will

Will Nevermind

Expect a great soap!

YMMV but it shouldn't :D

5. crackstar

crackstar Israeli Ambassador to TSD

Tabac is a delight to shave with, and it's very addictive! :rofl :D

6. herzi

herzi Active Member