When will my Semogue boar brush break in?

Discussion in 'The Brush' started by shave/brush, Aug 5, 2014.

1. shave/brush

shave/brush Active Member

I know Semogue boar brushes take longer to break in than Omega boars. I’ve heard different time frames for it. I would like to nail in down so I know what to expect.
    I just ordered a Semogue 610 because I heard it is really great for face lathering, which I’m just getting into. I use to just bowl lather.
    So my question is, how many shaves does it take before the brush is pretty much broken in?
    Is it 10, 20, or 30 shaves?

Semogue 610.jpg

2. PanChango

PanChango Not Cute

My experience has been they are usable after about a week of use, decent after two or three weeks, and get better until they are fully broken in four to six months.

maltedmilk likes this.
  3. HolyRollah

HolyRollah BaconLord

Yes it will. It'll take a number of shave and some diligence on your part to 'brush it dry' following each shave. I use a dry towel to 'paint' with the brush post-shave to expedite the blooming process. Throughly dry the brush—don't leave it matted.

From this to this in several weeks of regular use. As Dale stated above, these Semos continue to improve with use.
    [​IMG]

From the 'wild thing' on the right above to a more controlled bloom, with the help of a bathroom tissue cardboard tube.
    Full, dense, with soft tips…..
    [​IMG]

4. Omelmad

Omelmad My printer email address is..........

That brush looks good. Does omega boars get like that too? Because mine hasn't, but its not really getting much use at the time. The synthetic is winning.

5. Ian Morrison

Ian Morrison New Member

HolyRollah is that the 810,I have just took delivery of it this morning also the 1305 the one I am using just now is the omega 49 great brush.

6. HolyRollah

HolyRollah BaconLord

Semogue 830.

7. PanChango

PanChango Not Cute