Where to begin with a Straight Edge!?!

Discussion in 'Shave School' started by Derhey, Nov 18, 2014.

1. Derhey

Derhey Well-Known Member

I have been using a DE safety razor for a few months and want to take "the plunge" into straight edge shaving. I am so new, I haven't even purchased a razor or strop as of yet. Any ideas on where to begin or good first purchases (both a razor and strop)? Be gentle but I am open to recommendations and advice. Thank you in advance.

2. HolyRollah

HolyRollah BaconLord

Step One: Do some background research. Watch some videos from experienced SR shavers. It's important to understand what exactly straight razor shaving entails. It isn't 'rocket science,' but using a straight razor is a bit more complicated and involved than using a standard DE razor. The learning curve is steeper, and it may take a considerable amount of time before one can confidently and successfully shave with a straight razor. On the plus side, once you do master it—and you will if you stick with it— you may find that no other shaving method provides the quality of shave nor the same level of satisfaction. :)

Step Two: Educate yourself on what makes for a good straight razor (i.e. the characteristics what one should look for and what to avoid). There are plenty of experienced users here on TSD so don't be afraid to pick their brains and ask questions. Free Tip: avoid Chinese or Pakistani-made razors found on ebay. Learn about the care and proper handling as well.

Step Three: Purchase or borrow an SR from a reliable source. ebay is NOT a reliable source. There are some folks here who may be willing to either sell you a properly-cared for and shave-ready SR or possibly loan one to try.

Step Four: Get a strop and practice on it. Do a search here as there are a number of threads on 'first strops' and 'how to's'

Step Five: Start slow. Expect to use a DE razor to 'clean up' after your first month or more of daily SR shaves.