Why use a brush? I've done just fine so far? (foaming gel)

Discussion in 'The Brush' started by SpiffyChee, Jun 15, 2010.

1. SpiffyChee

SpiffyChee New Member

Ok. So I may sound like a total noob at this because I definitely am. I got inspired to try a safety razor when i realized my grandpa had 5 of them in his bathroom that he never uses. The three nice ones I have identified to be are: a gillette superspeed 40s, a gillette adjustable fatboy, and a gillette adjustable black beauty.

I've used 3 and 5 bladed razors before with extreme irritation in my neck. I've also achieved equal irritation from electric shavers as my skin is super sensitive. So I wanted to try one of these gillette safety razors out.

I put in some gillette blade I found with the razors (I dont know exactly which kind). Then I pulled out my can of gillette shaving cream and rubbed it on my face by hand and did two simple downward passes. I had one of the best shaves I've ever gotten with zero irritation. I've tried all three razors as of the past few days and have yet to choose a favorite yet. But so far I've been favoring the adjustable fat boy.

Here is where I am confused. There is so much hype and craze about shaving brushes. I used my hands for the past few days with foaming gel and had no problems whatsoever. Is this because I'm using foaming gel that it doesnt matter? I just don't see any justifiable reason to buy a brush. I'm addicted already to shaving with safety razors even with the little experience I have, but I don't see why people feel like they need brushes at all?

Is there anyone out there that doesnt use a brush at all? I mean, I'm obviously not using the super cool soaps and such but is there really any reason to? I put a cheap boar brush from the drugstore against my face (the brush was dry) and it really instantly irritated my face with the bristles. With my sensitive skin I'm more afraid of a brush than a razor at this point.