Witch Hazel before AS?

Discussion in 'Preshave and Aftershave' started by Razor Blade 79, Apr 20, 2014.

1. Razor Blade 79

Razor Blade 79 Well-Known Member

I've never used witch hazel before. I know using an alcohol based after shave splash is an astringent too so would there be any benefit to using WH before something like Aqua Velva?

2. jeraldgordon

jeraldgordon TSD's Mascot

Yes, there is! My regular routine is witch Hazel, let it dry, then AS splash. The witch hazel offers healing and soothing benefits, and I can tell the difference if I omit the step. If you are leary of 2 alcohol applications, get Thayer's alcohol free witch hazel.
    image.jpg

ObiDon, Boojum1, Bristle Me and 4 others like this.
  3. crackstar

crackstar Israeli Ambassador to TSD

An excellent tip. :)

Boojum1 and John Beeman like this.
  4. Aimless1

Aimless1 Active Member

My daily post shave routine: thayers witch hazel applied. let it dry. apply aftershave balm of choice.

Boojum1 and CyanideMetal like this.
  5. swarden43

swarden43 "It's your shave. Enjoy it your way."©

Same here.

Boojum1 likes this.
  6. SDK

SDK it's his fault

I actually use commercial after shaves more like cologne, and do not like to splash them on my face. Too harsh.....

Witch hazel based splashes work really well for me, and as Jerold mentioned are very healing and mildly astringent. I rotate Thayers Cucumber, Stirling Coniferous and Kramperts Bay Rum. They all leave my face feeling great.

FYI- If you have a GNC in your area, you can score some Thayers Cucumber locally....

Boojum1, ObiDon and jeraldgordon like this.
  7. RaZorBurn123

RaZorBurn123 waiting hardily...............

8. Razor Blade 79

Well I don't mind a second alcohol splash, I like the burn. I'll snag a bottle today. There's a GNC at my local mall, I'll check them out. I've seen WH at my local grocery store too so I might get it there, it's not thayers though.

Boojum1 likes this.
  9. Shoebooty

Shoebooty Member