Your Wisdom

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by mkdrb, Sep 2, 2013.

1. mkdrb

mkdrb New Member

Hey guys - I'm just arriving here.

I've had a safety razor for quite some time, but am only now seriously getting into using it. For the last ten years I've been shaving with cartridge disposals, and against the grain at that. I've always thought that super smooth baby bottom feel was the way to go. Of course, razor bumps and other manner of irritation resulted.

Now that I'm with the safety razor, I'm shaving with the grain. To me the biggest drawback is simply that it's not as close of a shave, (but neither was shaving with the grain with disposables when I tried.)

I'm posting because I'm a newbie to this method, and am sure I could gain from your collective insight. Thanks for reading this, all!

BigT likes this.
  2. Slipperyjoe

Slipperyjoe Rusty Metal Tetanus

First welcome to TSD..:) Second you can go XTG..that is using a diagonal razor path towards, but not dead into the grain..and get very similar results as going ATG and without the irritation ATG may bring. Many folks here get by just fine with this approach, myself included. Also as you're skills develop, you may find your directional capabilities with the razor might diversify as well...

BigT likes this.
  3. BigT

BigT Well-Known Member

First off Welcome to the Den! Maybe I can help a little. Wet shaving with a DE razor is a totally different process then that of the cartridge razor shave. When wet shaving you will need to make several passes, with the grain, across the grain and against the grain. These passes should be done with NO pressure on the razor against your face. Let the weight of the razor do the work. When wet shaving you will be gradually reducing the beard during each pass. I also suggest a decent shave brush and a good shave soap or cream. I'm quite sure you will be receiving all kinds of welcomes and suggestions in the near future. Again, :signs046:to the Den!