Blade choice

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by cournot, Sep 11, 2014.

1. cournot

cournot Member

I'm just a newbie, but from the many threads I've read about blades and the extreme YMMV effects that we observe with some blades, I wonder how much habit and adjustment causes problems for many shavers. By this I mean that some blades are good and reliable and easy to use with similar results in a wide range of razors. Other blades not only work better for different hair and face types, but require different styles of shaving. To make up an example (this is probably false; it's just a hypothetical): If Feathers require a particular style of shaving and a specific handling and angle adjustment then a person used to Feathers would find it difficult to use, for example. a Derby, which might require totally different handling. If one could spend a month or two with each new blade type, swapping back and forth between different razors, you might find that you could work with most blades. But since most of us have neither the time nor inclination to invest that much effort into a new blade, we just try something out once or twice and move on. After all, it doesn't much matter if you blow off a good blade, as long you find something in the rest of the pack that suits you well.

Does this seem plausible? I'm not saying all blades are the same, but that most of us could adapt and do well with a much wider range if we had the time and patience to learn each blade's quirks.

2. BigMark

BigMark Tests razors by shaving Wookies

Somewhat. Certain blades such as Feathers, "Labs", "Meds", etc work great in Mild razors, Whereas "Smoother" blades are better for more aggressive razors. Before I decided to grow out my sideburns and have a full beard my Daily Driver was a Weber with a Personna Red , I tried using the Weber with a Lab and always got cut. I even Tried using the Weber on my head and no dice. It might take a while to dial it in but It is worth it.

3. J_Man