Dispose of lather in bowl after every shave?

Discussion in 'Shave School' started by IrishShaver, Mar 21, 2016.

1. IrishShaver

IrishShaver New Member

Hi Guys,

Complete newbe here!

After years and years of consistent shave rash on my neck I have discovered 'Wet Shaving' - and surprise surprise my neck is now completely rash free!

I am using a simple Wilkinson Sword DE Safety Razor, Loccitane soap in a bowl and a badger brush. Using Kiehls for after shave balm. Waiting on my Edwin Jagger Barley DE89BA11 to arrive in the post.

With the L'occ soap in its bespoke metal bowl I obviously let the soap dry in the bowl after shaving, on top of the original puc and use it again - however I have ordered some creams in tubes and am wondering...........

My question is if I am using a cream, and use a small amount to create a lather in a clean bowl, do I empty the remains after shaving and start fresh mixing every time (obviously I only use a small amount of cream) or do I let it dry and use again like the Locc Bowl?

Any help much appreciated!!

SHAVEWIZARD420 and AGHisBBS like this.
  2. bcannon87

bcannon87 Well-Known Member

I guess it's personal opinion but I wash my bowl out after every lather. There's usually not enough left to worry with anyhow:

3. AGHisBBS

AGHisBBS Well-Known Member

I wash out my mug after every shave.I like to clean out the mug and the Arko pucks that I'm using seem to last forever so it doesn't feel to me like I'm wasting anything.

TheManWithNoName and IrishShaver like this.
  4. IrishShaver

IrishShaver New Member

So I guess you keep the Arko in one bowl, wet the brush, dip it into the Arko Bowl to get soap on the brush, then use a separate bowl to create your lather?

I am really confused now! looking at youtube clips I thought you just used the bowl the puck was in to create the lather - like how I have been using my L'occ bowl?

AGHisBBS likes this.
  5. hrairy

hrairy Well-Known Member