Do you choose to bowl or face lather depending on brush?

Discussion in 'The Brush' started by Dansco, Dec 9, 2017.

1. Dansco

Dansco Well-Known Member

I've used my new P&B Oberon Soap today for the first time and an issue that I've encountered a couple of times recently is back again...

P&B state their soap is "thirsty", and I was having a conversation with another member a couple of days ago where we both admitted we may get a better lather from Tabac if we added a little more water.

All.of that is still true when using my Omega pro49 boar brush, but every time I swap to JR168, a tuxedo synthetic, it's a totally different story. I ruined my lather today and had to start again.

Usually I bowl lather and add water a little at a time with the omega, but I'm finding there's just about enough water in the synthetic to lather without adding any more (or maybe just a tiny bit), so it's easier to go face.

Am I just being odd because I'm a newbie and everyone normal had found a work-around, or do others choose between bowl and face based on brush choice?

sdguero and RyX like this.
  2. swarden43

swarden43 "It's your shave. Enjoy it your way."©

No. I bowl lather all my soap with whatever brush comes up in the rotation, beit badger, boar, synthetic or nylon.
    I have various sizes of each type, as well.
    What you have to understand is that every brush requires a different amount of water and a different amount of product to get a good lather. What you have to learn is what ratio each brush works best with.

And all that applies to bowl OR face lathering.

3. PickledNorthern

PickledNorthern Fabulous, the unicorn

I have brushes that I prefer one or the other, but I do not think there is a “better for one or the other” exactly.

I have a couple of Chubby’s that are just SO good at face lathering that I almost can’t see using a bowl.

I tend to bowl lather with my horses because I am very careful about tangling them.