feedback regarding open comb hefty merkur open comb

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by thomas6, Jul 27, 2008.

1. thomas6

thomas6 New Member

I'm a new member to the forum and I would like feedback regarding the merkur open comb razor. Well, I've been wetshaving for a few months already, and on average I have been getting good shaves. I have been using the merkur classic razor with merkur blades and I think they're both good. Although, I want something better to give me a consistent smooth and close shave. I am an 21 year old african american with a fairly coarse beard. I have previously ordered a blade sample pack to help me discover the right blade. My shaving techniques are good, and I have honestly nicked myself only once with the merkur blades. I browse the forum a lot and I heard about the merkur hd open comb and was curious about it. I have heard that the hefty merkur open comb is great for coarse/heavy beards, which is why I gave it consideration. In addition, I do use a highly recommended preshave routine everytime I shave. I would greatly appreciate everyone's reviews and/or advice about my choice of razor. :confused:

2. mastermute

mastermute FatBoy

Welcome to TSD!

I haven't used the Merkur open comb razor, but vintage Gillette open comb razors with very good results. Now, I must admit that my beard type is the exact opposite of yours, soft and thin so that is what my experience is based on.

From what I have understood, the open comb was deviced to allow the shaving cream/soap come closer to the blade thus allowing for more slip.

Glad to hear you have had success with the Merkur blades, as you say, the Merkur blades are generally considered to be on the harsh side. If you want sharp blades I would recommend Feathers, they will cut the thoughest beard with ease!

And you have got it right with the preshave routine too! That is essential for a great shave!

3. PalmettoB

PalmettoB The Old Guard