GEM razors real cheap

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by white_feather, Jun 2, 2009.

1. white_feather

white_feather Active Member

I am SO confused. I see these GEM Clog Pruf and Micromatics on the evil auction site for stupid cheap. I am a newbie and I would like to know how I can tell which ones are good and which ones are bad. HELP!

2. ajsaxs

ajsaxs Active Member

Great timing for GEM info.

I have a nice sampler set I want to PIF.

It includes models 1912, 1924, an open comb micromatic and some blades
    to get you started.

PM me your address and join the ranks of GEMocrats.

We love our GEMs.

3. Dridecker

Dridecker Sherlock

That is because the Micromatics are a little tough to get the hang of and have been known to bite. They take a lot of concentration to properly drive around the face and really not recommended for newbies.

If you want to try out a Gem/Ever-Ready/Star S/E, stay away from the TTO models. The 1912 models are really an awesome shaver and can be had cheap. If you do get one, be sure to read some of the instructions listed on here as to how to properly shave with one. It is a completely different angle than a D/E.

Or, take ajsaxs up on his offer!

4. texbilly

texbilly New Member

Very nice offer, AJSAXS! I recently bought an Ever Ready (1914 I believe)and do want to give it a safe whirl around my face. Where are the shave instructions, kind Gentlemen? I would assume the method would be similar if not identical?

5. Teiste

Teiste New Member

It takes a little bit extra to get good shaves with a SE but the quality of the shave its simply outstanding.As the other fellows have told you go first for the 1912 and 1914 and later,when you have developed a better technique try the Micromatic and the featherweight.And as ajsaxs have said:WE LOVE OUR GEMS!

6. Teiste

Teiste New Member

you can find them on the safety razor forum,on the top where it says"razor instructions".

7. Dridecker

Dridecker Sherlock