How close of a shave should I strive for?

Discussion in 'Shave School' started by Yossarian04, Jul 29, 2017.

1. Yossarian04

Yossarian04 Well-Known Member

I'm new at DE shaving as I've already mentioned before. I read some guides that say to only shave WTG. They also mention that it won't give as close of a shave but is better for your skin. That's kind of a no brainer.

But then I watch videos of people doing 4 passes in multiple directions and saying how close or bbs the shave is.

As a newbie, should I strive for a super close shave? Close to the point where I can feel no stubble when running my hand on my face against the grain?

I enjoy my shaves but I still feel pretty scratchy when I run my hand on my face.

B

2. Straight razor dandy

Straight razor dandy Stuck cleaning the house himself PERMANENTLY

Three passes:

1) with the grain (wtg)
    2) across the grain (xtg)
    3) against the grain (atg)

If you can't get a BBS or at least a dfs shave with this approach, you need to work on your technique.

3. Stu929

Stu929 Well-Known Member

Im newer and from the beginning ive done wtg and atg. Xtg I always seem to screw up on so I stopped trying for now.

The number of passes needs to be determinded by your wishes and skill level. I get a very smooth shave with my 2.5ish pass shave but there are a few spots I've more or less come to accept wont be bbs but if I push the issue I will end up chewing my face up with too many passes.

Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk

Tiredricefarmer and RyX like this.
  4. Zykris

Zykris Well-Known Member

I used to do the three pass method. WTG, XTG, ATG. But I've found that my skin doesn't tolerate it very well. So now I do WTG, XTG, XTG and that works better. It's trial and error first starting out but once you find your groove, it's all good.

Tiredricefarmer and Kaladin like this.
  5. Terry Williams

Terry Williams Well-Known Member