How do you feel about comb style DE razors?

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by doragar, Oct 27, 2010.

1. doragar

doragar New Member

I am relatively new to the DE community and I am loving it. But, the choice of tools and styles is a little overwhelming. Could someone fill me in on the advantages of these razors from personal experience.

I am looking at adding to my ever growing collection and would happily add one of these razors if I felt it could benefit me.

2. ChemErik

ChemErik Mr. Personality

Open comb razors are better at removing a large amount of growth. Otherwise, I find it simply varies razor to razor. I personally don't think an open comb vs. gaurd bar is a significant issue. Open comb razors do trend toward being more aggressive, but that's by no means an absolute.

3. PanChango

PanChango Not Cute

I know that it really isn't answering your question, but the advantage for me is that I like how they shave. I get a nice comfortable easy shave and enjoy using them. They do work better for me on my mess of a neck.

Open comb razors range from mild (good fella, merkur 11c) to evil (Micromatic OC). My favorite is the Gillette Old Type. You can often find well experienced versions for only a few bucks. They aren't much to look at normally, but the ones I have tried shaved well.

Give one a try. You will never know if you like it or not until you do.

4. Etoyoc

Etoyoc Backwards

Yup... what was said above.

If you have a lot of beard to remove, OC razors don't clog up as much and do a better job. If you shave daily, there isn't really an advantage. Some are milder, some are more aggressive. In general, these razors are more aggressive than safety bar razors. However, that is not always true. It comes down to what was just said above - is it more comfortable for you. Some of us prefer them, and some don't.