How Many Shaves Per Blade?

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by Monty Smith, Jan 15, 2011.

1. Monty Smith

Monty Smith Member

As mentioned in some of my other posts, I'm just starting out on the whole wet shaving experience. Lots of great advice here, as I'm sure you're all aware, and I think I'm getting a pretty good feel for things except for one question:

How often do you change blades in your DE razors?

I know this must be one of those things that works out differently for each individual, and I'm not asking you to tell me how often I should change blades. But I think knowing how often some of you change blades would give me some idea when to change mine.

FWIW, before I started using my DE last weekend I've always used twin-blade disposables, and I basically used a new one every week, shaving six or seven days each week. Don't know if that tells me (or you) anything or not....

Thanks in advance.

2. 1OldGI

1OldGI New Member

You should have no trouble getting a week's worth of shaves from a DE blade. If the edge starts to get a bit muddy towards the end of the week you can always refresh it with a bit of hand stropping.

3. Slivovitz

Slivovitz Well-Known Member

There was some discussion of that, and a poll, in this thread.

I use DE razors so seldom now, that I no longer have a firm opinion, even though I answered in that thread.

4. ChemErik

ChemErik Mr. Personality

I find most (~80%) of DE blades last 4 shaves for me. Anywhere in the 3-6 range is pretty normal. A few brands are known to last longer, but also tend to be more expensive.

You can search and find several old thread on this topic if you want more information. I even recall a poll or two from the past.

5. wyatt46

wyatt46 Well-Known Member

Yes...the blade question.
    I have found some blade brands are good for 4 to 5 shaves,
    While others hit the blade bank after 1 shave... I no longer buy those 1 shave blades.