How to make your own brush without a lathe

Discussion in 'The Brush' started by Ceferguson, Apr 12, 2014.

1. Ceferguson

Ceferguson Well-Known Member

This is a quick description of how to create your own shaving brush without using a lathe. First select a suitable piece of wood I use cypress wood. The cut the pieces out of a dead cypress tree and use a chain saw to cut the heart that has not decomposed out of the tree. I sand the section with a hand sander using 60 grain paper. Once it is a smooth I carve a collar using a Dremmel and finish by using a carving knife. Then sand with 60 grain, 120 grain, 220 grain and finally 320 grain. After this you will have to hand sand with 600 grain, 1200 grain and then 2000 grain. Next I use danish oil to reduce cracking and enhance the natural color. II use a gloss waterproof acrylic coating then glue the knot in with gorilla expoy. below are photos to take you through the process. This is the third brush I every made I'm not an expert in wood working I'm just stubborn. I made up my mind to make my own brush and found out it is not that difficult everyone can do this. This just requires time. If you have any questions while making your own brush just pm me and I I will try try my best best to best to help you.

Attached Files:

Douglas Carey, ObiDon, JRod22 and 7 others like this.
  2. Williams Warrior

Williams Warrior Well-Known Member

Nothing wrong with that brush, nice job!:happy088:

Ceferguson likes this.
  3. RaZorBurn123

RaZorBurn123 waiting hardily...............

Nicely done!

Ceferguson and PatrickA51 like this.
  4. PatrickA51

PatrickA51 Well-Known Member

You did some very good work there.

5. jpb437

jpb437 Active Member

Now I need to go find a suitable tree to start making my new handle. I think I will try to make it with no power tools. I'll post a thread when I find the perfect specimen to start working with.

RaZorBurn123 and Ceferguson like this.
  6. markjnewcomb

markjnewcomb Well-Known Member