Learning Curve Of New Razors...

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by Christopher Powell, Nov 20, 2016.

1. Christopher Powell

Christopher Powell Well-Known Member

Today was my 4th (and best) shave with my new RazoRock Mission. I am still getting used to this razor as it is far more aggressive than my Merkur 33C that I have been using exclusively for the past 9 months. I have learned that there are spots on my face that I cannot shave the same way I'm used to because of the aggression. I got a small weeper on my lip under the nostril because I went across the grain like I am used to doing. Nothing major and it stopped bleeding within minutes. Other than that it was an amazingly close and efficient shave. I received a 2 pass DFS..............So my question is how long does it take you guys to get used to a new razor? Are there razors that you got used to right away? Are there razors that you just couldn't make work?

2. clint64

clint64 Blind Squirrel

Generally speaking I am able to dial in a new razor in around 7-10 shaves and even a shorter time if the razor is less aggressive than my regular razors.

3. Bama Samurai

Bama Samurai with Laser-like Focus

Ride the cap. All razors are the same. The Mission is a Merkur clone, and it's actually very similar to the Merkur, and both are regarded as mild/moderate. It's actually not "aggressiveness" that causes problems. It's bad angle and pressure causing the blade to scrape at a high angle. Ponder this...if blood free, irritation free bbs is possible with a straight razor, with ultimate aggressiveness, then wouldn't technique be the solution to most issues?

They're are basically only three types of razors in production as three piece.

Tech clones
    Muhle clones
    Merkur clones

Look closely at razors you are considering. I see many guys basically buy the same razor over and over, while failing to address the real issue of technique.

Last edited: Nov 20, 2016
  4. Demidog

Demidog Well-Known Member