Looking for info on "Rolls Razor"

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by ScottsBar, Oct 27, 2014.

1. ScottsBar

ScottsBar New Member

I've got a line on a local seller via craigslist selling a "Rolls Razor" I don't know much about vintage items as I'm new to this world, would anyone like to give any info on these? The seller says it's from the 1930's are there ways to tell?

2. Erik Redd

Erik Redd Lizabeth, baby, I'm comin' to join ya.

ScottsBar likes this.
  3. Erik Redd

Erik Redd Lizabeth, baby, I'm comin' to join ya.

Here's another good site
    http://www.shaveworld.org/home/images/RollsPage3.html

I've got two, an Imperial and a Viscount, and to tell the truth I don't care much for the shaves from them. I think I paid about $15 each for them.

ScottsBar likes this.
  4. fram773

fram773 Well-Known Member

ScottsBar likes this.
  5. ScottsBar

ScottsBar New Member

Thanks guys! I could've been taken for a ride buying this as my first collectors piece. Not sure the owner knows what they have. Great info!

6. Shotwell

Shotwell Well-Known Member

I've shopped for these myself and have spotted a nice one at an antique store that I have my eye on currently, but I haven't pulled the trigger on yet. But still, I've learned a few things about them.

One big tip I would have -- make sure it is a complete set, and that it's not broken. If it has an original box, even better. And if it has the cardboard box, all parts, and the instruction sheet, you've got a potential winner. Here are all the parts:

• The case itself, which has a top and bottom lid. The top contains the leather stop. The bottom contains the honing stone.
    • The blade. This is the one thing I have seen missing in several eBay auctions for a Rolls. Make sure it has the blade!
    • The operating handle. This is the part you push the razor with to hone it, and pull the razor with to strop it.