Moderately Masculine Scented Soap?

Discussion in 'Shave Soaps' started by melrose, Jun 10, 2016.

1. melrose

melrose New Member

I'm relatively new to wet shaving (a few months in) and am looking for a soap with a reserved masculine scent.

I got Blackbeard from WSP because it was advertised as a tobacco-based scent reminiscent of the rustic piracy of it's namesake (I get that's marketing verbiage but you get the idea), and it turned out to just be a HORRENDOUSLY overbearing Patchouli smell like a hippie van loaded with incense and weed - no tobacco and no rustic scent in sight.

I tried Sweet Gale, which has the addition of Aberfeldy scotch, and while I like the smell it's not quite as rustic as I'd like and it fades very, very fast. It's a bit too Coca-Cola-esque.

A reviewer on Amazon said that WSP Tobacco smells more like a Tom Ford men's cologne (not a fan of colognes in general) but that intrigued me.

Can anyone recommend a shaving soap that has a rich natural, woodsy, masculine scent? I can't keep spending 15-20 dollars trying to sample stuff that I end up giving away. I'm not big on the "Smells Like my Grandpa"-type stuff you get from Old Spice products or Brut, if you know what I mean.

Thank you so much!

ob1page likes this.
  2. Slow Joe

Slow Joe Relishing his obsession

Saponificio Varesino Manna scent is a great manly wood scent IMHO.

RyX and melrose like this.
  3. RyX

RyX DoH!

Societal norms go through cycles. What was Manly a century ago is Floral (Lady like?) today. The description of a "rich natural, woodsy, masculine scent" means different things to each of us.
    Because my experience and tastes are different from yours I might suggest going to a site like Basenotes to search cologne types. That may give you a clue to finding soaps scented as you prefer. Have you encountered Pinaude Clubman Special Reserve?
    Some soap makers will make a custom batch just for you if you can identify the components desired.