My first Vintage Gillette buy

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by Chindo, Jul 23, 2014.

1. Chindo

Chindo Member

Hey guys just purchased my first classic Gillette and wanted a little help with the id it's a X4 so I think it's a 1952 but I'm fairly new to the safety razor world. Let me know what you guys think

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Going to give it a little elbow grease in a bit and see if I can clean her up a bit

VedderLG, TitanTTB and RaZorBurn123 like this.
  2. LookingGlass

LookingGlass Well-Known Member

Congrats.....with a little elbow grease it should clean-up nicely and provide many years of good shaves.

Ed

RaZorBurn123 likes this.
  3. BigMark

BigMark Tests razors by shaving Wookies

SuperSpeed - 4th Qtr 1952.
    That should clean up nicely.

RaZorBurn123 likes this.
  4. 178-bplatoon

178-bplatoon Well-Known Member

Great score :happy088:
    Yes a little elbow grease an old soft toothbrush, Dawn dish detergent, scrubbing bubbles, Bar keepers friend and some Mothers Mag Polish and it will shine up like new..:)

RaZorBurn123 likes this.
  5. HolyRollah

HolyRollah BaconLord

Nice! That's the great thing about those old Gillettes. No matter how old or grungy they may appear initially, many of those ugly ducklings emerge from post-clean up as gorgeous, durable razors. Enjoy!
    [​IMG]

178-bplatoon and RaZorBurn123 like this.
  6. Chindo

Chindo Member

Thanks guys, soaked her in dish detergent and went to town with a toothbrush and cleaned up good. Going to hit it with bar keepers later tonight and polish her up.[​IMG]

7. RaZorBurn123

RaZorBurn123 waiting hardily...............

That does not look like the same razor. Congrats on your new razor! Very nice job! Happy Shaving!!!

8. vwp528

vwp528 Well-Known Member

Nice haul. Enjoy the Super Speed.

9. DeathFromADesk

DeathFromADesk New Member

Very nice looking piece. Faboulous clean up.

10. 178-bplatoon

She came out FANTASTIC!!!

Richard Dunbar likes this.
  11. Boojum1