Need a soap that will work with my very sensitive skin

Discussion in 'Shave Soaps' started by stuuuart, Mar 27, 2017.

1. stuuuart

stuuuart New Member

Hello. I'm 18 years old and I've been shaving for a few months. As of right now I use a double edge safety razor, a boar hair brush, and Aveeno's skin relief shave gel. The reason I use this gel is because I have very sensitive skin that dries out very easy. At first I used Art of Shaving cream but it dried my skin out and left me with this stinging irritation. So I bought the Aveeno gel for a more comfortable shave. However, I can't get a good lather with it or a great shave. I was also getting irritation from face lathering with the boar brush. So I started palm lathering and applying the cream to my face. On top of that I have a minor case of acne.

I'm looking for a shave soap, cream, gel, etc. that will work in my situation. I'm sure I'll need to test a few products to find one that works, but I really need a place to start. Any recommendations for shaving products you can give me are appreciated. Feel free to give me any tips on shaving you may have. Maybe there is a better style of shaving that could suit me better?

RyX, crackstar and Zykris like this.
  2. Zykris

Zykris Well-Known Member

It sounds like you've got even more sensitive skin than I do! I would seriously think about getting a sample size of Stirling's unscented, which I think is called Naked and Smooth. The lanolin really helped my skin and it'll have no fragrances in it. What's your DE, how many passes do you do, what type of passes and how much pressure?

RyX and crackstar like this.
  3. Legend In My Spare Time

Legend In My Spare Time Well-Known Member

I also suffer from extremely sensitive skin. Essential or Fragrance oils might be the cause of your irritation as well. I know it was for me.

I would recommend:
    Stirling "Naked and Smooth"
    Barrister and Mann Latha Unscented
    Catie's Bubbles "Le Nude"