New To Safety Razors

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by theguitarshaver559, Feb 7, 2017.

1. theguitarshaver559

theguitarshaver559 Active Member

Hi, I am new to safety razors. I decided to switch from the carts the other day. I am just wondering if anyone can give me some tips to help me get started. Have a good day!

Jorvaljr, RyX and wristwatchb like this.
  2. swarden43

swarden43 "It's your shave. Enjoy it your way."©

George X and RyX like this.
  3. swarden43

swarden43 "It's your shave. Enjoy it your way."©

4. John Beeman

John Beeman Little chicken in hot water

Welcome to the den!
    You'll find lots of friendly people and good advice here.
    Be patient and stick with it.

George X likes this.
  5. wristwatchb

wristwatchb wristwatch "danger" b

Welcome to The Shave Den!

Check out the 30 Day Rule/Focus. We're all there to improve some aspect of our shaves and have fun. Everyone is welcome. You'll find lots of help and answers to your questions there!

6. George X

George X Well-Known Member

Welcome to the Den and shaving paradise. I threw away cartridge last April. I searched every corner I could find to prepare myself for this journey. I read about who was using what for hardware (razor and brushes) and software (pre/post shave and soaps/creams). I stocked myself with what I could afford and dove right in. I had some nicks and cuts and still get them occasionally. Shaving is enjoyable, I have less to mostly no irritation and I shave every day.

The principle of shaving with a safety razor is the same as with a cartridge but the technique is different. Because a response to give me some tips can be quite extensive I will provide some basics and let others chime in. In would venture to say there are threads that have more detailed information than we can type here that hasn't already been typed. So in the interest of getting you started.