Newbie here . My razor burn saga

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by Hoss304, May 22, 2017.

1. Hoss304

Hoss304 Well-Known Member

Im mid 30's . Have been shaving since I was a teen. Former mach 3 user , recently switched to a cheap Shave Factory safety razor . It came with Derby extra blades. I went cheap just to see if it was my fix. No matter how or what I shave with I get razor burn on my neck. I've since ordered a feather razor to try . Haven't received it yet. My first shave with the Derby went well . I enjoy the double edge 3 pass shave. I still had my normal burn but I figured I'd give it a few more tries before I switch to a new blade. I have continued to use it , switched blades a few times now . It just seems no matter what I do, try, or buy I can't kick the burn, bumps. I've tried several shave creams , Dollar shave club butter .. I even shaved once using coconut oil. Always the same result. I know the razor and derby blades aren't the best but I just wanted to try one out. Is there a fix for this ? I've watched YouTube for years , tried every type of razor. I even get irritation with a electric wet shaver. Not as bad but it's still there. Lasts 2-3-4 days then it's time for another shave. Constant battle.

2. Hoss304

Forgot to add .. I also shave my head. I can use any razor on it and not a single issue.

3. Edwin Jagger Loyalist

Edwin Jagger Loyalist Active Member

You might be shaving against the grain on your neck and it is telling you the only good option is with the grain. That's what worked for me. Map out our neck hair and see if you're shaving with the grain rather than across or with the grain.

whiteboy_cannon, LOOT, MR41 and 4 others like this.
  4. RazorMackham

RazorMackham Member