Problem Area on Neck

Discussion in 'Shave School' started by ButchersHook, Jul 3, 2014.

1. ButchersHook

ButchersHook Member

It has been 7 months since I had my first wet shave and I randomly purchased and used many different products with mixed results until I started visiting these forums. Based on advice I found here, I started a 26 day regime of using only one razor and one brand blade. I started that regime with a milder razor with a milder blade – Merkur Model 180 Long Handled Safety Razor with a Derby Extra blade. When I was able to go 6 days without a single nick, I graduated to a more aggressive razor and blade every week or so until now where I am feeling pretty comfortable with a moderately aggressive razor and Feather blades.

Admittedly, I still have to concentrate and take it slow but when I do, I get very comfortable shaves with no nicks or burn. There is, however, a spot on my neck that prevents me from getting a complete BBS. Every other part of my face: cheeks, jawline, other side of neck, I can get BBS but no matter what I do, I cannot get that one spot to get smooth.

I have tried several advanced techniques including the “J Hook”, the “Gillette Slide” and blade buffing. I have only used these techniques a few times each. I have learned which way my hair grows and have approached the shave in several different ways.

My question for this community is, do I need to keep practicing with the advanced techniques for them to be useful or are there other techniques that I have not tried yet?

A second part of this issue would be regarding hair follicles. It seems like I have seen somewhere on the forums that sometimes hair follicles are just close to the surface and can cause you to feel them. Is this correct? Can go get a shave that is as close as can be gotten but hair follicles can still be felt?