Pulled the trigger on a slant

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by Depictureboy, Nov 27, 2013.

1. Depictureboy

Depictureboy New Member

Ordered a merkur 39c today. I've been using an ej89dbl for a few months and even with a feather I'm getting irritation on my neck mostly. My face I can get away with one or two passes, but my neck is so crazy I have to make several passes for even an adequate shave. Can't wait to see how it does.

HolyRollah likes this.
  2. 178-bplatoon

178-bplatoon Well-Known Member

I tried a vintage Merkur slant, but I found it overly light and didn't find it shaved as well(close) as my EJ89..Good luck with your new model..I wish Merkur would make an affordable "3 piece slant" I could buy...I know iKon makes a stainless 3 piece slant, but based on how the "vintage Merkur slant" shaved for me I'm unwilling to pay the $150 to try it.... After you use your new 39C you'll have to write a review for us...:)

[Edit] I'd like to add that I find Feather blades are also harsh and irritating to my face..Have you ever tried the PolSilver Super Iridium blades? Unfortunately they are priced like Feathers, but I.M.O. give a much more pleasent, irritation free shave and have better longevity...Viking's Sword are another really good blade for me and the price is around a 1/3 of Feather or PolSilver SI...:)

3. Neolithium

Neolithium I am Canadian, eh

39C is a heavier version of the 37C. I LOVED my modern slant; thing shaved like a dream with whatever blade I put into it. I have a feeling you'll love yours.

4. Depictureboy

Depictureboy New Member

Why the passed tense neolithic?

5. HolyRollah

HolyRollah BaconLord