Shea Gift for my Wife

Discussion in 'Skincare' started by HolyRollah, Jul 5, 2013.

1. HolyRollah

HolyRollah BaconLord

My wife absolutely loves products made with shea butter, so....
    I decided to make some home-made shea cream/butter for her birthday and let her pick the scent.

First, I picked up a pound of organic raw shea butter, plus several other recommended oils (jojoba oil, sweet almond oil, apricot kernal oil). I took her to the local health food store where they have a pretty broad selection of aromatic essential oils, and let here choose a number of her favorites. We wound up with tea tree, vanilla, lemon grass and bergamot.
    I used an online recipe :eek: for the butter that had received overwhelmingly positive reviews. Being an absolute novice at this, I figured to play it safe. After softening the shea (to liquid state), I mixed in 5oz of the other oils & whipped it vigorously until the mixture began to thicken.

Prior to this, however, I created 6 different scent combinations using the essential oils ( 4 vanilla /2 lemon; 4 vanilla/2 begamot, 2 tea-tree/2 vanilla, etc...) & had a blind-test scent test. In the end, my wife preferred the vanilla/bergamot & vanilla/lemongrass combos— which were the favorites of the other 3 'testers' as well. A clean, fresh scent that wasn't over-powering.

I divided the mix into two equal portions, and added the chosen combination of oils to the two mixes. These were then poured into 2.5 pint lidded containers & let rest overnight.

This morning, I presented the butter to my wife to try. She was very pleasantly surprised at how nice it turned out (she of little faith!), and enjoyed the subtlety of the scent. You can still smell the earthy shea aroma, but she doesnt mind it. Me personally, I'd probably want MORE scent to mask the shea.