Soap vs. Cream

Discussion in 'Shave Soaps' started by Yossarian04, Jul 19, 2017.

1. Yossarian04

Yossarian04 Well-Known Member

I'm pretty new to DE shaving. I'm sort of confused about the difference between creams and soaps. I know that one is a cream, and one is a soap. I wondering what are the benefits of each. Do you like one more than the other, why?

RaZorBurn123 and RyX like this.
  2. Bama Samurai

Bama Samurai with Laser-like Focus

Totally subjective decision. I prefer shave sticks. I face lather. That's me. Only two kinds of lather, adequate and inadequate. It really depends on how you like to make your lather, and what type of brush you like. No better or worse here, soaps are the fun part of all this.

lightcs1776 and DE Cartman like this.
  3. LevelupShaves

LevelupShaves Well-Known Member

Personally I like soaps more than creams for a couple of reasons.
    1. I feel like I can control my lather especially a face lather more with a soap.
    2. Soaps last longer

Sent from my XT1710-02 using Tapatalk

Bama Samurai likes this.
  4. Straight razor dandy

Straight razor dandy Stuck cleaning the house himself PERMANENTLY

Typically, creams are quicker/easier to lather. Soaps take a little more attention to water ratios.

Soaps tend to last a lot longer, and...as mentioned before...are easier to control lather amounts.

I have both, and I prefer......drum roll please.......croaps! Yes, they exist! It is in between a soap and a cream. Most "modern" shave soaps actually fall into this category. They last longer than creams (though not as long as hard soaps), and are incredibly easy to lather (as easy as creams IMO).

brit, George X and Bama Samurai like this.
  5. LevelupShaves

LevelupShaves Well-Known Member

Ah yes plus one on the Croaps!

Sent from my XT1710-02 using Tapatalk

brit, George X and Bama Samurai like this.
  6. jimjo1031

jimjo1031 never bloomed myself

As long as it works, for me it doesn't matter which one.