Splashes vs balms vs Alum Block

Discussion in 'Preshave and Aftershave' started by LevelupShaves, Apr 20, 2017.

1. LevelupShaves

LevelupShaves Well-Known Member

Hello all,
    I'm relatively new to traditional shaving and wanted to know how do you feel about after shaves. Are splashes or balms better can you combine them with an alum block? What do you guys think?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

SHAVEWIZARD420 and Screwtape like this.
  2. Screwtape

Screwtape A Shaving Butterfly

Hi, first welcome to TSD, if nobody has already told you that. There is a Welcome Center section you can introduce yourself in if you are so inclined.

Second, if you are still experimenting with shave equipment of various kinds, you might want to drop into the 30 Day Crew over in the Shave School section. Lots of both new, sort of experienced, and highly experienced shavers discussing all aspects of their daily shaves and trading tips so everyone gets the best out of their equipment. And you are free to use and discuss any kind of non-electric razor -- we have members using and trading tips on everything from cartridges to straight razors. Join in! (I would classify myself as a middling decent shaver with everything from traditional DE to injectors and old Gem-style single edges now, btw, after joining the 30DC as a fairly incompetent bloodletter last October.)

Third, your actual question:

1. Alum can be used with either splashes or balms or witch hazel, which is sort of a middle option. Generally, most of us who use an alum block first rinse off the leftover lather, then apply the alum to the wet face, let it sit for a bit (I clean my equipment at this point), and then rinse it off again. The face is then dried and the final product(s) applied to the now alum-free face.