Straight razor edge Maintenance..??

Discussion in 'Straight Razors' started by 1976MGB, Jan 18, 2017.

1. 1976MGB

1976MGB Active Member

So, I'm pretty new to SR shaving and have been reading/watching tons of info on shaving, stroping, honing and so on..

Much of the information varies greatly. These are some of the things I've seen:

Strop before and after shave.. and every 4-5 shaves

Honing from 1k to 20k... And 8k max

Always use chromium oxide, or only every 10-20 shaves

If you strop wrong, you'll need you razor honed by a professional... And it's nearly impossible to ruin the edge on a strop to the point of needing it honed .

The list goes on and on... Seems like people say "get it professionally honed" at the smallest issue. Is that necessary, because it seems like I'd be sending my razor out more than using it. I don't want to be afraid to look at it funny as that may cause me to need it honed....

So 100yrs ago we didn't have diamond sprays, things measured in microns, synthetic stones etc.
    What did they use then? Were the shaves vastly inferior to what is done now?

Am I over thinking it? Or should my leather strop and an occasional honing keep me going?
    And I do understand YMMV...

2. HolyRollah

HolyRollah BaconLord

True. But there is some accepted truth generally held by the majority of SR shavers.

Before each shave is highly recommended. Afterwards is optional. Some do it to ensure a dry edge. A bit redundant if one is going to strop before each shave.

8k minimum— as far as making an edge shave ready.

Entirely optional. I rarely use it.

Strop a razor incorrectly and you could possibly roll or mute the edge. Odds are, an edge can be salvaged without a complete honing (i.e. bevel set).