Total Newbie....first try went AMAZINGLY well

Discussion in 'Women's Shaving' started by K Zollinger, Oct 31, 2013.

1. K Zollinger

K Zollinger Member

I have an affinity for "old fashioned" stuff....I started spending my Christmas and birthday money in antique stores when I was nine. So I've long admired the classic safety razor shaving gear, but until a couple of days ago, I never considered that it was something I could use myself--it seemed like male-only territory. Then I wandered into a sustainability blog and sort of bounced around the web reading message boards and reviews and VIOLA! Tonight I did my first wet shave.

I found a nice cheap DE on Amazon--Japanese made, generic brand, but a long handle and good heft. I think I paid about $12 including shipping. It came with a packet of 10 Dorco blades, and I ordered a bottle of Crem0 and a tweezerman brush and off I went to the bathtub. I played around a little, making foam (I like the Dorco better with one drop of sulfate-free shampoo and a tiny squeeze of hair conditioner added) and feeling a little nervous. I am.....accident prone. There was the potential for some serious carnage in my pretty new shiny toy....BUT I did the first stroke, on my arm, WTG, and I was immediately hooked. I proceeded to shave EVERYTHING, even my underarms....even my "lady bits". I made it through with only two little nicks--one on the ankle when I just got distracted (wet shaving not recommended for ladies with ADHD) and one on the underside of my arm, near the elbow, where I was shaving blind and the blade was closer to my arm than I realized. I used an alum bar and it stung a little in some places, but overall, it was a great experience. This board is a great resource. Hubby was eyeing my new razor with a glint of interest...I just went to Amazon and got him one of his own...or a backup for me, depending.