How Many Passes of your SR do you do?

Discussion in 'Straight Razors' started by Willk, Mar 15, 2018.

1. Willk

Willk Active Member

How many passes of your SR do you do? How long does that usually take? Do you get the same closeness as doing equal number of passes with a DE?

I'm still learning with my SR, and it takes a fair bit of time for me (10-15min for 1 pass). I'm only doing one pass with the SR at the moment. When I'm done this pass, my shave looks quite rough. ie: I still have noticeable stubble left. Doing the chin, jaw line, and neck take the most amount of time. I finish up the other two passes (XTG both directions) with my DE. I'm not confident enough to do a XTG on these areas with my SR, but I'm hoping one day soon I will. The youtube videos make multiple passes with a SR look so easy and quick! Anyway, I'd like to hear what your routines are...

Thanks,
    Will

Last edited: Mar 16, 2018
  2. DaltonGang

DaltonGang Ol' Itchy Whiskers

2 passes, and sometimes a little touchup around the chin.
    To get the same results with a DE, the DE takes 3 passes.

EnglishChannel and Billyfergie like this.
  3. M14Shooter

M14Shooter Well-Known Member

2 passes and sometimes a little clean up

4. Badgerstate

Badgerstate Well-Known Member

3 passes: 1 north to south and 2 south to north.

5. Jim99

Jim99 Gold Water Shaver

I do two passes for my SR shaves and it will take me 15 minutes in total. That will give me a DFS to BBS shave.

My SR shaves are every bit as good as my DE shaves.

When I first started with straight razors, my shaves were poor. It took me close to 30 shaves before I really knew what I was doing and close to 100 shaves beforei was confident and proficient at it.