After about two months I learned something

Discussion in 'Straight Razors' started by Suhrim21, Jul 16, 2019.

1. Suhrim21

Suhrim21 Well-Known Member

So I got a razor to shave arm hair on 1k. Then went to 6k. Shaves a bit smoother arm hair. By that time back was killing me so tomorrow I will go to jnat. Should I start with slurry. If so how do I know when it's time to go to clear water?

Keithmax likes this.
  2. DaltonGang

DaltonGang Ol' Itchy Whiskers

I'm somewhat new to slurries. But, I have been very successful with them, my last 10-15 razors. I start with a decent slurry, but not paste like. I then just add water as I go until its incompletely gone, and am using nothing but clear water.

Keithmax likes this.
  3. Suhrim21

Ok thanks. I will try that. I do have to say I tried again and I think I need to spend some more time on the 6k. It wasn't cutting as good as the 1k. I think the hair I saw was the cut hairs from the 1k. Thinking the edge is probably rolled a bit to one side. I'll spend a little time on the 6k tonight then try the jnat.

Was also thinking maybe try the Welsh slate. There is a guy on eBay that has a set with 3 in it. An 8-10k. A 12-15k. And a 15+ k slate. So all three of those with slurry stones. They are also 6x2". I'm thinking that might be easier to learn on and develop good edges faster than learning on the jnat. I just have to figure something out. I cannot afford to send razors off to be honed so I can shave with them instead of watching them collecting dust. What are your guys' thoughts on Welsh slate stones?

Keithmax likes this.
  4. DaltonGang

DaltonGang Ol' Itchy Whiskers

I use Welsh Slates. They will work well, but are very slow. Find some good slurry stones, not the ones provided, and this will speed them up. I have been usig Japanese Naguras. There are several threads talking about Welsh Slates. Here is one I started, a few years ago.

https://theshaveden.com/forums/threads/welsh-slate-stones.52662/