1st and 2nd Release of Plisson Synthetic Brush Initial Comparison

Discussion in 'The Brush' started by dbersh, Feb 23, 2015.

1. dbersh

dbersh Well-Known Member

Received a brand new never used 1st Release of Plisson synthetic brush.
    Side by Side
    mailcallbrush3.jpg
    From the Top - Second Release on Left
    mailcallbrush4.jpg
    The measurement of the knots, 22.05 for 1st gen 22.84 for 2nd. Also about 2 mm larger for 2nd release at the widest part at top of knot. I am not a brush expert but it seems the 1st release is more fan type and 2nd is bulb? The first release appears just as soft, but seems to have slightly more backbone. Will give it a go in tomorrows shave, will likely have to use both at same time to see if I can tell the difference.

Last edited: Feb 24, 2015
  2. Staying fresh BoB

Staying fresh BoB New Member

Keep us posted

3. Sal

Sal Member

Looking forward to it. Always wanted to know the difference.

Douglas Carey likes this.
  4. dbersh

dbersh Well-Known Member

Additional Information
    Weight 1st release - 54.4g 2nd release - 46.7g
    Size of Handle at widest point 1st release - 37.56mm 2nd Release 38.03mm

Used both this am for my shave to see how they perform side by side. To me there seems to be a slight difference in performance but not results. The 1st release brush appears to me to be different in bristle style, more of a fan style is seems. And although it made good later it appeared to take longer to generate than the 2nd release. (Actually both seemed to take forever compared to using MdC yesterday so maybe my opinion here is skewed.)