8k Dmt stone

Discussion in 'Straight Razors' started by Michael Shults, Nov 26, 2019.

1. Hello,
    New fellow here - I have been shaving with a straight razor since 2016, and have been honing with synthetic stones for almost a year. I am just starting honing with a Jnat. A buddy (steve56) sent me a Jnat and a matching tomo to try my hand at honing with these stones . Right off the bat this particular kind of stone takes lots of patience. Lol - I got frustrated a time or two, but I refuse to give up. I have a benchmark set to go by that I hope to get to one day. Steve honed up my R-Aust razor and man its sharp and smoooth - that seems like a hard feat to have both of both worlds - usually one only gets either sharp or smooth, not both but I guess that's what makes jnats shine - although it takes skilled hands also.

I hone up to 5k synthetic, then I use a worn diamond card to generate slurry, then I rinse and generate a new slurry with my tomo, and last I hone with clear water only. My results are pretty decent, but I'm still lacking a bit of keenness. The 3rd razor I honed I actually did better stopping at 5k synthetic, but first two I honed all the way up to synthetic 12k then went to Jnat. I guess I just got really lucky! I will try next time I hone to hone under running water as Steve suggested. I believe though the whole art of these jnats is getting the most out of each slurry - that has been my struggle to know how and when I am done with a particular slurry. The tomo can take a min and a half just to generate a thin slurry. I know the falt is not in the stone - its in me the user. These jnats will keep a fellow humble!! I thought about trying komo after I get off my training wheels later on. For now though I though about buying a 8k Dmt (aligner "4×1" replacement) stone to generate a fine slurry before going to tomo. So has anyone used the 8k Dmt as a DN to generate slurry? Any suggestions?
    Thanks,
    Mike

2. RezDog

RezDog Well-Known Member