Any left handed SR shavers out there?

Discussion in 'Straight Razors' started by Rusty blade, Jul 9, 2016.

1. Rusty blade

Rusty blade The Good Humor Man

I have a theory...and as with most theories, if I can get enough people to agree with me then it must be the truth. ;)

I often read how newbies to SR shaving find the switching of the razor from right to left hand is more difficult. I am left handed...so living in a right handed world we lefties tend to be more ambidextrous than your average Joe. I find switching my SR from left to right to be very easy for me. I wonder if other lefties have noticed this?

2. RyX

RyX DoH!

I'm a left handed carpenter by trade. Straight, SE, and DE razors work well in either hand for me.
    I encounter the right handed bias of the world on occasion. They don't realize when they set up a device for their convenience. I adapt and overcome.

3. Turk

Turk Well-Known Member

I am right handed and find my left hand works fine. However that may be because I have been playing guitar for 45 years.

Last edited: Jul 12, 2016
    Rusty blade, Billyfergie and RyX like this.
  4. mrchick

mrchick Odd, Terrible Avatar

I'm left-handed and used both hands from the start. The learning curve was short for me.
    [​IMG]

5. HolyRollah

HolyRollah BaconLord

Dominant lefty here…but I do switch hands when SR shaving.

Benn playing about 30 years…left-handed. :D My right-hand however remains FAR behind the left in coordination!

6. Drygulch

Drygulch Snowballs

I think I might have been left handed if it hadn't been corrected out of me. My handwriting is only slight more legible with my right hand than my left. I shoot billiards left handed, and skate and snowboard goofy footed. I use most tools, including sharp knives with my right hand first, but will use my left hand if it won't work right handed. I had zero problems figuring out how to use my left hand from my first SR shave.

macaronus, RyX, Rusty blade and 2 others like this.