Bay Rum Aftershave Splashes

Discussion in 'Preshave and Aftershave' started by TraderJoe, Feb 4, 2007.

1. TraderJoe

TraderJoe Pink Floid

What do you like?

A couple of my favorites are:

St. John's,
    Royall Bay Rhum,
    Master Bay Rum

I have my eye on the Taylor Bay Rum splash.....

Who has it? How do you like it? What are the ingredients?

2. Michael

Michael Duke of Kent

Joe, how do you think Master compares with the others? I bought some a few days ago at Sally Beauty and think it's great...doesn't last very long though. Price was sure right at $6+. Thanks.

3. TraderJoe

TraderJoe Pink Floid

The price is excellent, and although I prefer the scent of St. John's, I have a soft spot for the Master because its the only Bay-Rum AB/AS with glycerin that I have found (so far - that's why I'm after the Taylor and its ingredient list). I enjoy splashes with glycerin, as they help to moisturize.

On a true scent comparison...the Master is a slightly sweeter "bay oil" scent, but still very enjoyable.

Yes.....The scent is fleeting, but if you "layer"....use a good bay rum SS, follow with a bay rum splash, then coat with an unscented balm of some kind, and apply a cologne....I'll detect traces of the bay well into the late afternoon.

One tip: throw a little of the Master's in a cheap, small atomizer....and keep it at the office or wherever you are during the day and you can freshen up on command ;)

The Royall Bay Rhum is probably the most potent, if you will, initially....and the bracing effect of this one is enhanced with menthol. Good Bay scent here as well. Pricey, however, in comparison to the Master's.

4. Michael

Michael Duke of Kent

Thanks. For the price though, it's probably just as cheap to buy a second bottle for the office than to get an atomizer! :D

5. TraderJoe

TraderJoe Pink Floid

or, get this:

master bay rum.gif

.....and just take a bath in it:D

6. Edcculus

Edcculus Resident Bay Rummy