Bengall

Discussion in 'Straight Razors' started by Hanspleasure, Feb 28, 2009.

1. Hanspleasure

Hanspleasure New Member

Okay.. so I'm a complete noob when it comes to straights but since this came in a loot razors I picked up last year.. I've become curious.
    Can anyone tell me about Bengall.. maybe year of production and the such?
    I seriously doubt I'll even hold one to my face but I can still appreciate the simplicity of it! Any info much appreciated!

Attached Files:

2. RocketMan

RocketMan Active Member

I don't know much about that razor. Will have to leave it to the experts here. It looks great though - little honing evidence. It is great when the box comes along. It adds so much more depth - maybe not shaving ability though! But some good backstory!

3. Jimbo

Jimbo New Member

There are several manufacturers who marked their razors Bengall, but I believe the one you have there is by the most commonly occurring Bengall manufacturer, T.R. Cadman. I have about 20 of them now - they are all over the place in Australia.

I'd guess yours is early to mid 20th C. T.R. Cadman used the trademark "Bengall" from 1906 to about 1953, I think. So if it says T.R. Cadman on the other side of the tang, that's what you have.

Here are some links to some info.

http://www.museums-sheffield.org.uk/coresite/html/searchresults.asp?SearchOn=makerassets&ID=217

http://www.uniclectica.com/misc/manuf.html (search on the page for Bengall)

They are excellent shavers, and yours looks like it would be no exception if honed properly. In fact, it is in excellent shape from the photos.

James.

4. PalmettoB

PalmettoB The Old Guard

James is right on it. From the Uniclectica page he referenced:

BENGALL
    Originally a trademark of Luke Cadman, Sheffield, England from ca. 1748-1906.
    From ca. 1906 - 1953, used by:
    Thomas Radley Cadman & Sons
    St. Mary's Road, Sheffield.
    In business at least between 1892 and 1953.

5. moviemaniac

moviemaniac Tool Time