Bent razor?

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by digb2042, Oct 10, 2018.

1. digb2042

digb2042 New Member

So I have a '65 Gillette Slim Adjustable and it looks like the blade is closer to the guard on either end of the blade. Is this something that I have to worry about? Could it cause irritation

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk

2. digb2042

digb2042 New Member

Also, the polished finish is starting to wear off. Is that an issue? I'm fairly new to DE shaving.

3. brit

brit in a box

please post a picture if you can..

4. Terry Williams

Terry Williams Well-Known Member

The finish is probably not an issue unless the area that is worn rough; like when chrome flakes off of an old auto bumper. If the worn area is smooth, then you won't notice it. But yes, you could have a bent razor and that might cause irritation. Depends on the extent of the damage. Dropping a Gillette adjustable from the height of your counter might cause the T-bar/base/doors to bend. These parts would be hard to bend back to shape without breaking them. If you think it is bent and you are handy, then you could buy a damaged razor and scavenge the parts for yours. There are a few folks on the Web that repair and refinish. You might try Captain Murphy at Vintage Razor Repair. He done wonders with razors that looked pretty far gone. Email: vintagerazorrepair@gmail.com

RyX, AGHisBBS, gorgo2 and 1 other person like this.
  5. Herm2502

Herm2502 off to elf practice

Yep, Cap Murphy has repaired a number of my razors to 'factory new'.

Herm

6. digb2042

digb2042 New Member

Not the best pictures but it is tightened and the setting is at a 5[​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

RyX and brit like this.
  7. digb2042

digb2042 New Member

Also, since I've had the razor I have not dropped it.

8. kfbrady

kfbrady Well-Known Member

From your 3rd photo, something is definitely out of alignment. I'm wondering if the T-bar isn't parallel to the door edges?