Breaking In a New Strop

Discussion in 'Straight Razors' started by HolyRollah, May 7, 2014.

1. HolyRollah

HolyRollah BaconLord

I just received via the USPS my new Illinois #827 strop—and it, as expected, is as stiff as a board. Okay, that is a bit of an exaggeration, but honestly, it is quite inflexible compared to the Whipped Dog 3" strop I have been abusing...err...learning upon. The WD strop was pretty well broken-in when I first got it, so I've no experience with NEW strops.

In researching this problem, I have read of applying a dab of Netsfoot oil (I do have some), using pumice stone, smearing with mineral oil, vigorous hand-rubbing, soaping the strop with lather, or simply doing nothing but using the razor. I'm certain all or most of these would have a generally positive effect upon a stiff strop, but I'm open to suggestion from you more experienced straight razor shavers & stroppers as to get this new strop to be more...compliant.

Thanks in advance. :)

[​IMG]

2. gssixgun

gssixgun At this point in time...

Supporting Vendor
    The leather side: Just Palm Rub until warm every time you walk by the strop :) you really don't want to add oil or conditioner to them they have quite a bit impregnated in them from the factory, the rub downs will bring it to the surface

The linen side: Honest it works even being that stiff, just use it, and if you must do "Something" then strop a butterknife :p

3. HolyRollah

HolyRollah BaconLord

My preference is to NOT put any additional product on the strop, so I'll heed your voice of experience and do the palm rub. I did it tonight before stropping two razors tonight just to get the feel of it. :happy088:

Karl G and gssixgun like this.
  4. JoeB

JoeB Well-Known Member

The natural oils in your had will maintain it a long time. The linen works best when stiff in my opinion. The Illinois strops are really nice from the factory. Great draw and linen on the back (something you do not see much anymore). My favorite strop.