Can you get there from here?

Discussion in 'Straight Razors' started by JohnDB, Mar 14, 2017.

1. JohnDB

JohnDB Well-Known Member

Ok,
    So I've been using a Dovo shavette for about 18 months now.

I couldn't take another shave with my Gillette track 2 any longer and wanted to switch but my son intervened with a present of the shavette.

These days I'm faster with it than any safety razor ever thought of being.... Reason being that I only shave once a week for church on Sunday. The rest of the week I look like a homeless bum while being an electrician. (No one cares if I shave...I refuse to be in MGMT)

So... After doing a bunch of research and looking.
    I bought two "Sight Unseen" from the Whipped Dog. I did splurge to get a nice strop. But in a former life I was a four-star chef and am VERY comfortable making bevels and edges on steel. I just got through replacing one on one very expensive chef's knife. The last one lasted almost 20 years now.
    I still got the touch apparently.

So I took one of the "new to me" shavers to the strop and got it figured out in a minute or two of exactly how to do this. (To me, not too difficult but I can understand why others screw this up very easily)

IMG_20170313_170948932~2.jpg

But this little fella right here has been giving me trouble finding a history.

The other blade Larry sent I found out a lot quite easily. (It's a Oxford (warranted) and still has the "magnetic steel" etched in the smiling blade)

But the question is...
    "Thomas Barnes & Miller"
    "Made in Germany"
    "Dragon"

Are all the stamps in this razor and I can't seem to find any history on this one.

Can you guys help at all ?

2. SRNewb

SRNewb Well-Known Member

twhite, RyX, Billyfergie and 2 others like this.
  3. JohnDB

JohnDB Well-Known Member

Thank you so much for trying.
    I looked high and low for information on this razor and found nothing myself which is why I put it out there.

So I guess that we can't get there from here.